Andreas Borgeas is a family man and educator, and as State Senator proudly represents the Eighth District of California.

As an educator, he has worked in numerous international professional and academic capacities; including, as a Fulbright Scholar, Contributing Fellow for the Woodrow Wilson Center, Policy Specialist Fellow at the US Embassy in Kazakhstan and as Commissioner on the US-China Economic and Security Review Commission.

Andreas conducted his PhD field research in, and published extensively on, China and the neighboring Central Asian Republics, receiving his graduate education at Georgetown Law School, Harvard University and Panteion University of Political Sciences. After clerking for a federal district judge he practiced international law at Luce Forward. For over a decade he has been a professor in the fields of international law and security affairs at the San Joaquin College of Law in Clovis, and is an adjunct professor at the Middlebury Institute of International Studies in Monterey.

Andreas began public service as a Fresno City Councilman and member of the Fresno County Board of Supervisors before being elected in 2018 to the California State Senate.

While originally from Phoenix, Arizona, Andreas is a proud Fresnan. He and his wife Anna, whom he met at a Starbucks in Fresno, are the proud parents of two young boys. The Borgeas family is also very involved in the local Greek and Armenian communities.

Andreas is Chair of the Senate Agriculture Committee and Vice-Chair of the Senate Judiciary Committee, with other committee assignments including Governmental Organization; Energy, Utilities and Communications; Insurance; Joint Legislative Audit; Pandemic Emergency Response; Cybersecurity and Identity Theft Prevention; California, Armenia & Artsakh Mutual Trade, Art & Cultural Exchange; and California’s Wine Industry.

The Eighth Senate District encompasses all or portions of the following Central Valley, foothills, and mountain counties: Amador, Calaveras, Fresno, Inyo, Madera, Mariposa, Mono, Sacramento, Stanislaus, Tulare, and Tuolumne.